Stanford & Corringham Sixth Form College

Curriculum Overview

AS/A' Level

A full A' level in a subject takes two years to complete. It is made up of an AS level (completed in the first year) and an A2 (completed in the second year).

During the first year of Sixth Form those students solely studying A' levels will usually study four subjects at AS level and in their second year will choose three of those four subjects to continue with at A2. On occasion some students will continue with four A' levels.

BTEC Nationals

BTEC Nationals are recognised qualifications, understood by teachers, employers and universities and are highly regarded stepping stones to employment in the vocational area or university. They are level 3 qualifications designed to provide highly specialist work-related qualifications in a range of vocational sectors. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment.

For students wishing to study BTEC courses they would be expected to have attained four GCSEs at grade C or above.

A BTEC Level 3 Diploma is equivalent to 2 A' levels.

An Extended Diploma is equivalent to 3 A' levels.

OCR Cambridge TEC

The Introductory Diploma is completed over two years and, although it is equivalent to 1 A level, it is not broken down into two distinct qualifications in the same way as an A level. The Diploma is equivalent to 2 A levels, again completed over two years.