Corringham Primary School


 The role of a School Governor is vital to the success of every school please use the link below for further information on the role.  All of our Governors are members of the National Governors Association (NGA).

The Role of the School Governor

Our Governing Body members are:-


Tony Eatherton - Director, Chair of Ortu Corringham Primary

Type of Governor Committee Membership Date of Appointment Term of Office Appointed by
Federation       Trust Board

Welcome to the Corringham Primary School website, my name is Tony Eatherton and I am your Chair of Governors, I was a former Chair of Governors of Gable Hall School for 14 years up until 2003.  I am a retired Fire Officer having served 29 years in the London Fire Brigade retiring in 1994.

I have two grandchildren at the school and their education and that of your children is of paramount importance to me, I am passionate about every child achieving "The very best they can be" whilst at this school and when they go on to further education, so they can fulfil all their aspirations and this is championed by the school as part of The Stanford and Corringham Schools Trust.


Lorna Hamilton - Headteacher


Type of Governor Committee Membership Date of Appointment Term of Office Appointed by
Headteacher   1/10/2013 4 years Trust Board


Headteacher - Mrs Lorna Hamilton

The role of the Governing Body is to set the strategic vision and ethos of the school.  I am proud to work with the Governing Body.   I am very proud of the rapid progress throughout the school and the impact this has already had on the children, I know that there is still more to do.  With the Governors and their continued commitment to our children, I have every faith that this school will go from strength to strength in order for us to fulfil our aim “to be the best that we can be”. 

Trust CEO - Dr Sophina Asong

Dr Asong joined Gable Hall School as Headteacher in April 2011 after 5 years as Deputy Headteacher and then Acting Headteacher at Forest Gate Community School in Newham, inner London. Holder of a doctorate in Education (Organisational (Systems) Management and School Improvement), her leadership style can best be described is as pacesetter, completer-finisher and shaper. A high achiever with a strong bent for distributed leadership, Dr Asong has since led the school through an early Academy conversion, a good Ofsted, a 5% rise in headline results to 71% 5+A*-CEM (2012), a jump in the school’s national ranking from 31st to 4th percentile (Value Added Best 8 (2012)) and an IIP Gold Award amongst others. She leads an experienced and highly motivated Senior Leadership Team



Staff Governor - Mr Shaun Robinson

Key Area of Responsibility and Monitoring - Wellbeing of School Community

Mr Robinson joined the school in July 2013, he is Assistant HEadteacher for Key Stage 2 and Maths Lead for the school.  Shaun wanted to join the Governing Body to have a wider impact on all children throughout the school, the children and the overall leadership in their journey to good and beyond.

Parent Governor - Mrs Shona Duce

Key Area of Responibility and Monitoring - Early Years

Mrs Duce joined the Governing Body in September 2014 as she decided as a parent she felt it was important that the school was held accountable for serving local needs properly.  She  was able to bring her experiences from the financial sector to the understanding of school data, so she could represent these to school parents in a language that was familiar to parents. 


Parent Governor - Mrs Jessica Thomas

Governor - Mr Dominic Green


If you would like to contact the Governing Body please email or telephone the school on 01375 672157.